top of page

meet the team

2024.02.06 LDS Debate-098.jpg

Rev. Hillary Taylor 

Executive Director (She/Her)

Rev. Hillary Taylor brings a passion for administrative order to SCADP.  Before working for SCADP, she worked as a young adult missionary with the United Methodist Church and a two-point charge in Saluda, SC. A graduate of both Furman University and Candler School of Theology (Emory University), Hillary has been working against the death penalty since organizing with the #KellyOnMyMind Campaign in 2015 for Kelly Gissendaner in Georgia. When she returned to South Carolina, she became a pen-pal to someone on South Carolina's Death Row, and has been working ever since to abolish the state's death penalty. She is an ordained United Methodist Minister through the Mountain Sky United Methodist Annual Conference who loves all things related to psychology, liberation theology, and restorative justice. 

Summer Interns '24


Chloe Canavati

Summer Intern (she/her)

Chloe Canavati is a rising senior at Furman University where she is a double major in Politics and International Affairs and Business Administration on the International Business Track. At Furman, Chloe holds leadership positions through her work as a tour guide, panelist, and concierge in the Office of Admissions; she also works as an Orientation Leader every fall. She is a member of MENA (the Middle East and North African club), greek life, Residencial Life Council, and is a John D. Hollingsworth Scholarship recipient. In her free time Chloe enjoys spending time with her family and friends, watching movies, sewing, and photography. In the future, Chloe hopes to pursue a career in policy work specifically regarding human rights. She is excited for this summer with SCADP and hopes to expand her knowledge on how to improve and make impactful changes in state laws.


Nyla Figueroa

Summer Intern (she/her)

My name is Nyla Figueroa, and I am originally from Bethlehem, Pennsylvania. I am majoring in Psychology with a concentration in Forensics and a minor in Women’s and Gender Studies at Coastal Carolina University. My classes have taught me multiple different ways to do research and how to use my research interests to get involved in the community. In my free time I enjoy hanging out with my friends and going to the beach! I also enjoy writing and learning new skills.


Mary Kathryn Lancaster

Summer Intern (she/her)

Mary Kathryn Lancaster is a rising junior at Furman University studying Politics & International Affairs and Spanish. At Furman, she is involved in DEI through her sorority, the Shucker leadership program, and service with after school programs. She has been exploring human rights advocacy through different lenses and is excited to continue this pursuit through SCADP. In her free time, Mary Kathryn enjoys spending time in her hometown, Charleston, going to the beach, playing guitar, and spending time with family and friends. Mary Kathryn is excited to better understand the justice system in South Carolina and to improve her skills needed for a future legal career.

Screenshot 2024-05-22 082737.png

Chloee Smith

Summer Intern (she/her)

My name is Chloee Smith, I am a rising senior at Coastal Carolina University! I am a double major in Political Science and Philosophy. I am involved in the Jackson Scholar Program, the Forum on Liberty and the American founding, and I am a student assistant in the Poli Sci department. I am ecstatic about being a summer intern for such a great cause which I am incredibly passionate about. I hope to use everything I learn with SCADP in my career as an attorney. In my free time, I enjoy thrifting, traveling, and spending time with family. 

OUr Board of Directors

bottom of page